Chicks on Bikes SF ride/party – how did it go?

It was kind of like a wedding day. Lots of planning, a hundred details, a thousand communications, and one big day. Also like a bride I smiled my face off and saw lots of old friends.

Here are some of the girls in the book before the ride.

Jenny Lefferts, Goth Girl, Jennifer Bromme, Alex Elchinoff and me

Jenny Lefferts, Goth Girl, Jennifer Bromme, Alex Elchinoff and me

It was a magnificent day in San Francisco when we met at Ocean Beach. There were dozens of fun filled events in the city that day – the Love Festival, the Folsom Street Fair… But us girls were there to ride.

Here’s Pinky arriving with her most stylish sport bikin’ crowd. See the sunshine, the cliffs, the mob of cars looking for a place to park…
COB_SFRide_-61

We’d filled the no-parking red zone with bikes, but Jenny charmed the police who smiled happily and left us all to park as we liked. Do girls get away with more?
COB_SFRide_-56

I was a bride who had to take her own photographs. So I missed a lot and was often caught up IN the moment not the distance that it takes to be photographing. Rob Stokstad from City Bike covered the day much better, click here.

With that disclaimer, here’s a few pics from the parking lot.

Sunset Red with her helmet count of how often she's been stung by bees.

Sunset Red with her helmet count of how often she's been stung by bees.

"I didn't fall off. I ride my own."  Don't need to tell US.
My new Ducati friend Rain Hayes

My new Ducati friend Rain Hayes

Alex was the racer girl in the book with her bike in the bedroom. More tatoos 10 years later.

Alex was the racer girl in the book with her bike in the bedroom. More tatoos 10 years later.

SFMC Paige and President Tegan

SFMC Paige and President Tegan

And then the ride was on! It was the best ride through SF I’ve even had. The roads seemed to part before us like the red sea. GOTH girl and Alex were Moses and SFMC the loyal disciples who blocked traffic better than Jesus Christ.

Perhaps Jesus loves chicks on bikes because it really just went so smooth and fast. We broke laws, set off car alarms and dusted several cops along the way.

I managed to grab a few shots while riding which is tricky with the throttle hand.

Broadway St.

Broadway St.

Embarcadero and Bay Bridge

Embarcadero and Bay Bridge

Goth and Alex in front of the ballpark.

Goth and Alex in front of the ballpark.

Almost there, we can smell the beer. When a Muni bus stopped we uniformly broke rank, swarmed past the bus and bee lined the last block to the party at Benders.

hanging in front of Benders

hanging in front of Benders

SFMC tell me they love to block traffic. Thank you!

SFMC tell me they love to block traffic. Thank you!

The bike I most wanted to own. Holly came up from Santa Cruz on 3 tiny tanks of gas.

The bike I most wanted to own. Holly came up from Santa Cruz on 3 tiny tanks of gas.

I stole this shot from Bobss site. Thanks Bob.

Into the bar where I drank one extreme margarita that fueled me for a couple hours of book signing. I hope I didn’t write anything too stupid in anyone’s book. I stole this shot from Bob's site. Thanks Bob.

performance art moment by my freind Barbera Lou McDowell. In case you didn't get it.

performance art moment by my freind Barbera Lou McDowell. In case you didn't get it.

Hit by a Prius. Still riding and laughing, scooter girl Laura.

Hit by a Prius. Still riding and laughing, scooter girl Laura.

Pat Mazerra made her way down from the Folsom Street Fair.

Pat Mazerra made her way down from the Folsom Street Fair.

Finally I sneak out back with my friend Sydney the only hip suburban housewife MILF from my alter ego life in Orinda who came.

Finally I sneak out back with my friend Sydney the only hip suburban housewife MILF one from my alter ego life in Orinda who came.

And what happened on September 27th 2009.
If you haven’t already bought your book and you’ve read this far. Go immediately to Chicks On Bikes website and order it.

9 Responses to “Chicks on Bikes SF ride/party – how did it go?”

  1. Steve A Says:

    Looks like it was a fantastic day!
    Interesting to see the different levels of protection gear warn. Looks like for the most part full gear was the norm. I am an all-the-gear-all-the-time guy.
    Have to ask a question.

    what is Alex checking out?

    Congratulations on your day. Good job!
    Steve…

  2. Leah Petersen Says:

    Looks like a awesome day, wish I could have joined!

    Ride on ladies.

  3. nicole gruen Says:

    Love the blog, the photos and the book. So proud of you…. Wish you tons of success and that you sell out 😉 in a good way….

  4. Christina Shook Says:

    Yeah, I’m all-geared-up girl too and felt wild not having riding pants on. I didn’t think we’d achieve the urban speeds that we did. We got there almost an hour before planned.
    I’m sure Alex is making sure her boobs are tied, I mean boots…ha!

  5. kickstand Says:

    Wish I could’ve been there, but ya know, there’s like this whole COUNTRY in between the west and east coasts!! Let’s get cooking on the east coast Chicks on Bikes event!!

  6. alexandra elchinoff Says:

    ATGATT here, too. I was wearing a 1-pc Aerostich with full armor, I wear it everywhere, which is how I was able to wear a dress for the event 😛 (No, peeps I never ride nekkid like that!) I was actually bummed I had to leave my earplugs out for the ride so I could communicate 😉
    My boobs were tied, lol. I was actually crossing my legs and looking down at same 😉

    I love the Ballpark pic; Christina did an awesome job wedging her big old Beemer between us and a Mercedes…think she only played bumper tag once- lol!

  7. sunset Says:

    wow… it was like we owned the city….everyone get outta our way…we’re coming through! awesome people…a great ride…a fantastic day! thanks so much, christina!

    sunset

  8. Sunshine Says:

    Well dang! I wish I had known about this in advance! You KNOW I would have been there! Ain’t NOTHIN’ like ridin’ with a bunch of gals! Christina, I am SOOOOO proud of you! It was fun seeing you again this weekend and I hope we can ride together again soon! I also hope your book sells out again and again and again…Best of everything to you and thanks for telling OUR story!

  9. Pauline DiBartolomeo Says:

    Christina,

    Thanks for contacting me. I will absolutely buy your book. It looks like you took some great pics. If you did go on the road to one of the rallies, I’ll be in Daytona 2010. For the past 2 years HD did a 500 women ride for MDA but I didn’t see anything planned for this year…too bad.

    Keep up the good work!!

    Pauline
    2009 HD Softail Deluxe

Leave a Reply

