Dirtbag Challenge

I’m so glad I got my tired butt over the bridge after a day of photographing kids, babies and families. You’ve no idea how exhausting that can be. But the magical light crossing the Bay Bridge seemed to promise something wonderful awaiting.

Magical light on the Bay Bridge.

Magical light on the Bay Bridge.

mesmerizingly lovely Bay Bridge

mesmerizingly lovely Bay Bridge

Golden San Francisco

Golden San Francisco

I was all geeked up upon arriving at the wrap up to the The Dirtbag Challenge 2009. The awards were just about to be given.
Picture 12

The rules are simple:
No Harely’s
1 month to build it
Cannot spend more than $1000
Must be able to complete the ride to Marin Headlands and back.

Seems I was plumb overwhelmed by the excitement of my buddies winning the “Peoples Choice Award” because I did not focus my camera at all. Oops.

blurry but happy - Kerri, Tegan, Jen and Kathy (is it Kathy?) win Peoples Choice.

blurry but happy - Kerri, Tegan, Jen and Kathy win Peoples Choice.

I got myself together for a few pics of their hot little Darling Dirtbag bike.

Jennifer Bromme

Jennifer Bromme

Tegan appears

Tegan appears

Kerri appears

Kerri appears

The tank really makes it.

The tank really makes it.

And the hot red seat.

And the hot red seat.

And then the light was just about gone so I just got one other hottie showing off her bike with builder boyfriend (someone tell me who this is, I lost their info).

Winner for Cleverest Chopper

Winner for Cleverest Chopper

dirtbag-102

The beer was gone, the builders and riders exhausted, and just a trace of light left. But the burnout and fireworks progressed. I was entranced with the noise, smoke and exuberence of it all. It well worth the hearing loss.

BBBBBBBBurnout!

BBBBBBBBurnout!

This had been going on all afternoon, as you can see from the marks.

This had been going on all afternoon, as you can see from the marks.

Loud and happy. The tires about gone.

Loud and happy. The tires about gone.

I’m bummed I missed most of the day, but I can’t wait for Paulo Ascension’s film he’s working on about the Dirtbag Challenge. He filmed it in true dirtbag style – beer in hand.
dirtbag-24

5 Responses to “Dirtbag Challenge”

  1. kickstand Says:

    Yowza! These pictures are awesome! The one you tagged “Kerri appears” is such an awesome photo!

    I gotta get me some fishnets, although I’ll never look as hot in them as the no-name chick does!!

    Ride on…

  2. Derol Says:

    The winner of the “Cleverest Chopper” was a man named Turk. I don’t know his girlfriends name.

    You can get a hold of him through the dirtbag forum.

  3. kat@LadyBikerStuff Says:

    What a lot of fun that looks like. Love the picture of the seat.
    I’m not sure I want to know how you took such beautiful pictures of the bridge while driving in the middle of tracffic. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Ask Lifestyle Guru Says:

    Very nice information.

Leave a Reply

